Learning New Things

Standard

Today, with the help of one of my awesome coworkers, I learned more about my page.  I was able to change the background to something more “shabby chic,” and I learned all about widgets.  This new adventure is turning out to be a lot of fun.

Oh, and I sold my first Esty item.  I shipped it yesterday.  I did learn some new things about shipping:  DO NOT go the UPS store.  I couldn’t find the right size box at the Post Office and I was in a big hurry to get the item in the mail.  UPS is expensive!  Both the box and the shipping were way more than I intended to pay.  So, I went the USPS site and ordered several different size boxes – they send them to your home for free.  In the future, I will not go to UPS, even in desperation.  It is just not worth how much it cut into my profit.  I would rather scour for a free box (and take a little extra time) than pay the UPS fees.

Here is a picture of the antique frame I sold.  I hope the purchaser enjoys it!

 

photo 3 (6)

About Monkeying Around

Welcome to my blog, Monkeying Around. In my 9 to 5 life, I am a higher education professional with more than 15 years of experience in the field. I love my job, but I also have lots of outside interests. One of which is shopping antique stores, junk shops, Goodwill and other thrift stores, and yard sales to find fun items that can be re-purposed and used in some new way. Unfortunately, my hobby was taking over my home. So, I have started a business selling these items. I tried a booth a local venue but found their monthly fee to be too high - I was not making any profits. Now, I am trying some one-day local craft fairs and festivals and have created an Etsy shop - Monkeying Around. The shop name came from my sweet bonus son, Samuel. I've called him Monkey since I came into his life over 4 years ago. He is the cute face you see in the logo. I hope you will continue to follow my blog and that you will check out my Etsy site as well. Feel free to share both with your friends or on your Facebook page or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

